President's Message: Announcing our prize winners

Published: 24 May 2021
Category: President's message

I am pleased to announce the recipients of our 2021 awards, which represent a range of specialisms in pharmacology. The prizes highlight the strength and diversity of our Society. Each prize and award is designed to encourage, reward and raise the profile of people who make up our vibrant community.

Professor Julia Buckingham CBE has been awarded the Wellcome Gold Medal for longstanding and exceptional contribution to pharmacology through research, education and numerous roles on research councils, medical charities and learned societies. This includes being past President of the British Pharmacological Society.

Professor Julia Buckingham CBE

Professor Tom MacDonald is the recipient of the Lilly Prize for his longstanding commitment to clinical pharmacology. He has made significant contributions to medicines safety, through both pharmacoepidemiological studies and pragmatic large-scale trials.

Professor Tom MacDonald

Professor Csaba Szabo has been awarded the Vane Medal for his outstanding research on the biology and pharmacology of hydrogen sulphide, and on the regulatory roles of nitric oxide, peroxynitrite and PARP in health and disease.

Professor Csaba Szabo

In education, Dr Dave Lewis is the recipient of the Zaimis Prize for his exceptional commitment to the teaching of pharmacology, teaching excellence, and raising the profile of our discipline.

Dr Dave Lewis

Dr Catriona Waitt has been awarded the BPS Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Prize, sponsored by AstraZeneca. This award recognises Catriona’s research activities, which focus on pregnant and lactating women, and her efforts to transform research culture to ensure equality, equity, diversity and inclusion.

Dr Catriona Waitt

Dr Daren Austin OBE is the recipient of the Sir James Black Award for Contributions to Drug Discovery for his work on developing ofatumumab, a low-dose, self-administered anti-CD20 therapeutic, for the treatment of remitting relapsing multiple sclerosis.

Dr Daren Austin OBE

My heartfelt congratulations to all our winners. The full list is below:

AJ Clark Studentship
Maria-Cristina Ardelean, University College London

BPS-ASCEPT Outstanding Early Career Investigator
Dr Harriet Allan, Queen Mary University of London

BPS Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Prize, sponsored by AstraZeneca:
Dr Catriona Waitt, University of Liverpool

Dunlop Prize Lectureship
Dr Richard Turner, University of Liverpool

Lilly Prize
Professor Thomas MacDonald, University of Dundee

Pickford Award
Dr Samantha Cooper, University of Nottingham

Rang Prize (clinical)
Dr S. Niru Nirthanan, Griffith University

Rang Prize (non-clinical)
Dr Aidan Seeley, University of Swansea

Schachter Award
Justine O-Brien, University College Dublin

Sir James Black Award for contributions to Drug Discovery
Dr Daren Austin, GlaxoSmithKline

Vane Medal
Professor Csaba Szabo, University of Fribourg

Vogt Prize
Dr Chloe Peach, New York University

Wellcome Gold Medal
Professor Julia Buckingham, Brunel University London

Zaimis Prize
Dr Dave Lewis, University of Leeds

Vacation studentships
Ruth Alexis​ ​Goh, Imperial College London
Olivia Lucianno, Queen Mary University of London
Chloe McCormack, Dublin City University
Kenzo Motohashi, University of Oxford
Euan Purdie, Glasgow Caledonian University
Selina Trory, University of Nottingham
Sophie Truman, King's College London
Ayla Yetkin, Brunel University London
Goergia Walsh, Durham University

More from President's message


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

If you are a British Pharmacological Society member, please sign in to post comments.