This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Rang Prize

Published: in Prizes and awards

This annual prize recognises excellence in teaching. Winners will receive £1,000.

Deadline for applications is 28 February 2021.

Apply now


Candidates will have made an exceptional contribution to the teaching of clinical or non-clinical pharmacology in the past five years (i.e. it is not a lifetime award but a prize for initiating recent achievements in teaching)


  • A member for at least two years
  • Joint applications are acceptable
  • The Society is committed to increasing the diversity of its award recipients. Excellent candidates are encouraged to apply, especially those from under-represented groups


Upload one PDF containing:

  • a brief CV (maximum of two pages); details of previous prizes are welcome, but this is not a key deciding factor in the award decision
  • a description of exceptional contribution to the teaching of pharmacology such as innovative methods (up to one page)
  • objective evidence such as student feedback and positive impact within or outside the candidate’s organisation to improve student experience (up to one page).
Past winners

Recent winners

  • 2020 – Sadani Cooray & Nicolas Goulding; Derek Lang
  • 2019 – Steve Tucker
  • 2018 – Andrew Holt
  • 2017 – Clare Guilding; Richard Prince
  • 2016 – Susan Duty; Lindsey Ferrie
  • 2015 – John Mucklow; Manasi Nandi
  • 2014 – Andrew Hitchings; Samir Ayoub and Michael Seed