This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Vane Medal

Published: 01 Jan 2018 in Prizes and awards

This annual prize rewards outstanding work in any research area. Winners receive a medal and £2,000 and have the opportunity to present a lecture at one of our meetings.


As a member you can nominate yourself or other members.

Nominations open in January 2019.


Nominees will need to be:

  • members
  • well established professors or at the peak of their career
  • have been a member for at least two years

Vane Medal

This prize is named in honour of Sir John Vane who discovered how aspirin works, laying the foundation for current understanding of anti-inflammatory medicines.