In memoriam: Professor Anthony Smith

09 Jan 2024

Former Head of Pharmacology at University College London, passes away.

Professor Jennifer Martin appointed new Editor-in-Chief of Pharmacology Research & Perspectives (PR&P) journal

18 Dec 2023

Professor Jennifer Martin will take up the role of Editor-in-Chief in January 2024, with Dr Ross Corriden becoming Deputy Editor-in-Chief.

New Trustee appointments announced for 2024 

07 Dec 2023

We are pleased to share that we have appointed two new Trustees to join the Council in 2024, as well as a new President-elect.

Society elects Cherry Wainwright as new President-elect 

06 Dec 2023

The British Pharmacological Society (BPS) is pleased to announce the election of Professor Cherry Wainwright as its new President-elect. 

Undergraduate Prize Winners 2023

04 Dec 2023

Announcing the 2023 winners of our undegraduate prizes.

2023 Fellows and Honorary Fellows

28 Nov 2023

Announcing the 29 Fellows and nine Honorary Fellows for 2023.

Recipient of the Geoffrey Burnstock Prize

24 Nov 2023

We are delighted to announce the winner of the innaugral Geoffrey Burnstock Prize.

New doctors should pass a prescribing skills test before they qualify to improve safety for patients.

09 Nov 2023

A recent review of the UK Prescribing Safety Assessment exam, and a subsequent paper in the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, highlight the way in which the exam could improve patient safety when prescribing.

In memoriam: Professor David Brown

30 Oct 2023

Former Head of Pharmacology at University College London, passes away.

Cardiovascular drug mavacamten awarded Drug Discovery of the Year Award 2024

18 Oct 2023

A team from Bristol Myers Squibb are the winners of the 2024 Sir James Black Drug Discovery of the Year Award, with their drug mavacamten for obstructive hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.