This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.


The Society's Council is comprised of Trustees who have ultimate responsibility for all aspects of the British Pharmacological Society’s activities, including management, with the exception of those matters which must be decided by a general meeting of the members.

The Trustees are legally responsible for the overall governance, strategy, and direction of the Society. In terms of the Charities Act 2006, Trustees are accountable to the Charity Commission for ensuring that the Society’s objectives as a registered charity are being met. The Trustees are also the Directors of the Society.

The Council of Trustees, which meets four times a year, comprises of up to twelve individuals as follows:

  • President (Chair)
  • President-elect
  • Honorary Treasurer
  • Trustees elected from the Society membership
  • Up to four Appointed Trustees

Elections to Council take place each year, and any voting member of the Society can stand. Trustees are elected to serve between three to four years, depending on office.

In addition to their strategic and audit responsibilities, the Trustees are required by charity and company law to prepare for each accounting year financial statements that give a true and fair view of the financial state of the Society and of the income and expenditure for that year. The Trustees must also ensure that the statements comply with the Companies Act 1985. They are also responsible for safeguarding the assets of the Society, and must therefore take reasonable steps for the prevention and detection of fraud and other irregularities. The Trustees must ensure that they are aware of all relevant audit information and that the independent auditor is made aware of all such information.


Professor Clive Page, OBE, BSc, PhD, FSoB, FBPhS

President 2022-2023 (Trustee) 

Professor Sir Mark Caulfield

President Elect 2022-2023 (Trustee) - leading to President 2024-2025  

Professor Simon Kennedy

Honorary Treasurer 2023-2025

Professor Adrian Hobbs

Elected Trustee - General 2023 - 2025

Alina Zorn

Elected Trustee (Early Career Pharmacologist) 2022 - 2024

Professor Ana Alfirevic

Elected Trustee (Senior Academic Leadership)

Professor Jamie Coleman

Elected Trustee (Clinical) 2021 - 2023

Dr Rachel Quinn

Appointed Trustee (Policy Impact)

Professor Steve Watson

Elected Trustee (Research Dissemination)

Steve Rees

Elected Trustee (Industry) 2020 - 2023

Edward Briffa

Appointed Trustee (Business) 2020 - 2025