This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Wellcome Gold Medal

Published: in Prizes and awards

This award recognises outstanding and sustained contributions to pharmacology. The winner will receive a medal and £2,000.

Deadline for applications is 28 February 2021.

Apply now


The Society will consider evidence of:

  • outstanding research
  • patient and / or public engagement
  • scientific impact such as contributions to the Research Excellence Framework, to education and training
  • other significant contributions, including research and development leadership


  • Members can apply themselves or on behalf of others, whether they are members or not. 
  • The Society is committed to increasing the diversity of its award recipients. Excellent candidates are encouraged to apply, especially those from under-represented groups


To apply you must complete the online form and upload one PDF including:

  • a supporting statement (max. two pages) outlining outstanding contributions
  • If applicable, a list of up to 20 of the candidate’s publications and summary of impact, including details of citations and, if possible, indication of the 'h' factor
Past winners

Recent winners

  • 2021 – Julia Buckingham
  • 2019 – Graeme Henderson
  • 2017 – Humphrey Rang
  • 2015 – David Colquhoun
  • 2013 – Rod Flower
  • 2011 – Roger Pertwee
  • 2009 – Gus Born