This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Dr Walter Aellig

Swiss Clinical Pharmacologist, now retired.

Ms Kate Baillie

Since June 2012 Kate Baillie has been Chief Executive of the Biochemical Society and Managing Director of the Society’s wholly-owned trading subsidiary, Portland Press Limited.

Dr Y.S. (Mick) Bakhle

I read Chemistry, took Chemical Pharmacology as a Supplementary Subject and went on to a DPhil in the Department of Pharmacology, at Oxford.

Professor Richard Barker

Richard is an internationally respected leader in healthcare and life sciences.

Professor Peter Barnes

Peter Barnes is Margaret Turner-Warwick Professor of Medicine at the National Heart and Lung Institute, was Head of Respiratory Medicine at Imperial College 1987-2017 and Honorary Consultant Physician at Royal Brompton Hospital, London.

Professor David (Nick) Bateman

Nick Bateman trained in clinical pharmacology at the RPMS Hammersmith Hospital.

Professor Maria Belvisi

Professor Maria Belvisi is Senior Vice President and Head of Research and Early Development, Respiratory, Inflammation and Autoimmune (RIA), BioPharmaceuticals R&D at AstraZeneca and is responsible for the basic science from initiation of projects to Phase 3 clinical trials.

Dame Kate Bingham

In her 30 years at SV, Kate’s biotech investments have resulted in the launch of six drugs for the treatment of patients with inflammatory and autoimmune disease and cancer.

Dr Nigel Birdsall

Nigel Birdsall obtained his PhD from Cambridge University.