This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
There are currently 126 Honorary Fellows, including Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor Stella O'Donnell

Stella O’Donnell (nee Gregory) BSc 1959 (pharmacy) BSc 1960 (pharmacology) PhD 1963 DSc 1984, University of Leeds.

Professor Michael Orme

I worked for 30 years at the University of Liverpool initially as Senior Lecturer, Professor from 1984 and then as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences from 1991-1996.

Professor Clive Page

Current position: Director, Sackler Institute of Pulmonary Pharmacology Institute of Pharmaceutical Science King’s College London London SE1 9RT.

Professor Kevin Park

Professor Kevin Park is currently Professor of Pharmacology and Head of the Institute of Translational Medicine at the University of Liverpool.

Professor James Parratt

Born London 1933; PhD pharmacology, School of Pharmacy, University of London, 1958; MSc (physiology) University College London 1963, DSc (London, 1997), DSc (Strathclyde 1974), MDhc (Szeged Medical University, Hungary 1989), elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, FRSE (1986).

Professor Jeremy Pearson

I trained as an endothelial cell biologist, with a PhD from Cambridge.

Professor Giancarlo Pepeu

Education: MD degree with honours, University of Florence, 1954 Postdoctoral Fellow, Pharmacology, University of Florence Postdoctoral Fellow, Pharmacology, Yale University, USA Professional Experience: Assistant Professor, Pharmacology, University of Sassari, 1962 Associate Professor, Pharmacology, University of Pisa and University of Florence Professor of Pharmacology and Chairman, University of Cagliari, 1968 Professor of Pharmacology, University of Florence, 1974 Emeritus Professor, 2005 Academic Positions Chairman, Department of Pharmacology, University of Florence, 1990-1996 Vice-Rector for Research and International Relations, 1998-2000 Chairman of the Evaluation Committee, International School for Advanced Studies, Trieste 2000 - 2005.

Professor Roger Pertwee

Roger Pertwee’s research focuses on the pharmacology and therapeutic potential of synthetic, endogenous and cannabis-derived cannabinoids.

Professor Laurie Prescott

Current Positions: Emeritus Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Edinburgh Retired Consultant Physician, Edinburgh Royal Infirmary & Western General Hospital Edinburgh Education: University of Cambridge, Middlesex Hospital Medical School, London Degrees & Qualifications: MA, MB, BChir, MD (Cantab), FRCPE, FRCP, DPCPSA FFPM, FRSE, Honours & Awards: 1978 British Pharmacological Society Lilly Prize in Clinical Pharmacology 1989 Fellow, Royal Society of Edinburgh 1998 Diploma in Clinical Pharmacology Honoris Causa 2000 Cullen Prize, Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh 2009 Honorary Fellow, British Pharmacological Society 2009 Honorary Member, Swedish Association for Clinical Pharmacology Professional Interests: Drug Absorption, Disposition and Interactions.