This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Dame Sally Davies

Dame Sally Davies is Chief Medical Officer for England and Chief Medical Advisor to UK Government.

Dr Clive Dix

Clive has more than 30 years’ experience through senior pharmaceutical industry positions and a Pharmacology BSc 1st Class Hons and PhD from University of Leeds.

Professor Robin Ferner

Robin Ferner holds Honorary posts as Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Birmingham, Associate Professor at University College London, Consultant Physician and Clinical Pharmacologist at City Hospital Birmingham, and Consulting Clinical Toxicologist at the National Poisons Information Service Birmingham Centre.

Professor Garret FitzGerald

Garret FitzGerald directs the Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics at the University of Pennsylvania.

Professor Rod Flower

Rod Flower read physiology at the University of Sheffield graduating with a 1st Class honours degree in 1971.

Ms Fiona Fox

Fiona Fox has a degree in journalism and many years of experience in working in media relations for high profile national organisations.

Professor Brian Furman

Brian Furman obtained his BPharm degree in 1966, registering as a pharmacist in 1971, and remaining on the register until now.