This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor Julia Buckingham

Julia read Zoology at the University of Sheffield and, after a short spell in the pharmaceutical industry, moved to London to study for a PhD in Pharmacology.

Professor Miles Carroll

Miles is Director of the Research and Development Institute, where his research portfolio includes: immunity to Ebola virus, host-pathogen interactions, vaccine development, and molecular epidemiology to infectious disease outbreaks.

Professor Sir Mark Caulfield

Mark Caulfield graduated in Medicine in 1984 from the London Hospital Medical College and trained in Clinical Pharmacology at St Bartholomew’s Hospital where he developed a research programme in molecular genetics of hypertension which has discovered over 1000 gene loci for blood pressure.

Professor Sir Rory Collins

Rory Collins studied Medicine at St Thomas’s Hospital Medical School, London, and Statistics at George Washington University and Oxford University.

Professor David Colquhoun

David Colquhoun FRS MAE (born 19 July 1936) is a British pharmacologist at University College London (UCL).

Professor Brenda Costall

BPharm(Hon), PhD, DSc, Personal Chair Neuropharmacology (1969-1984 University of Bradford).

Professor David Crossman

David Crossman is Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of St Andrews and an honorary consultant cardiologist at NHS Fife.

Professor Anthony Davenport

Anthony Davenport is Professor of Cardiovascular Pharmacology, directs the Human Receptor Research Group, Department of Experimental Medicine and Immunotherapeutics, University of Cambridge.