Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor JC (Ian) McGrath

During a long career at the University of Glasgow, Ian was head of various departments covering Physiology, Pharmacology, Sports Science and Neuroscience and held the Regius Chair of Physiology 1991-2012.

Dr Ruth McKernan

Dr Ruth McKernan CBE joined Innovate UK as Chief Executive in May 2015.

Professor Martin Michel

Martin C Michel is a physician trained in experimental and clinical pharmacology in Essen (Germany) and San Diego (California).

Professor Graeme Milligan

I am Gardiner Professor of Biochemistry at University of Glasgow, where I have been based since 1986, and Deputy Head of the College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences.

Sir S Moncada

Professor Moncada’s scientific career began at the Royal College of Surgeons, where he was part of the team that discovered the mechanism of action of aspirin-like drugs, thus explaining their therapeutic actions as well as their main side effect, gastric damage.

Professor Shuh Narumiya

Shuh Narumiya is Professor of Drug Discovery Medicine, and Director of Medical Innovation Center, Kyoto University, Japan.