This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
There are currently 136 Honorary Fellows, including Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Dr Richard Hargreaves

Richard Hargreaves holds a BSc and Ph.

Dr Ann Hayes

Ann Hayes completed her PhD in Pharmacology at the School of Pharmacy in London and then worked for 22 years at Glaxo, initially within pharmacology research, progressing to head of department.

Dr Robin Hiley

I am Emeritus Reader in Vascular Pharmacology and an Emeritus Fellow of Murray Edwards College.

Professor Ray Hill

Following his academic training at the University of London, he was a lecturer in Pharmacology at the University of Bristol from 1974 to 1983 and supervisor in Pharmacology at Downing College, University of Cambridge from 1983 to 1988.

Dr Richard Horton

Richard Horton is Editor-in-Chief of The Lancet.

Professor Susanna Hourani

I did my undergraduate degree at Newnham College, Cambridge and my PhD at King’s College London, and after three years at KCL as a post-doc I went to the University of Surrey as a Lecturer.

Professor Daniel Hoyer

Daniel Hoyer got his PhD and DSc in Pharmacology from Universite Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg.

Dr Patrick Humphrey

Patrick Humphrey graduated from the School of Pharmacy, University of London, in 1968.