This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Sir Michael Rawlins

Sir Michael is chairman of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (since December 2014).

Professor Jim Ritter

Jim trained in pharmacology under Humphrey Rang in WDM Paton’s department, where they discovered a new kind of drug antagonism, characterised by increased block when certain antagonists were co-administered with agonist.

Professor Nancy Rothwell

Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, FRS, is President and Vice-Chancellor of The University of Manchester, the first woman to lead The University of Manchester or either of its two predecessor institutions, and Professor of Physiology.

Professor Graham Russell

I am a retired but still active Professor of Musculoskeletal Pharmacology at Oxford and Sheffield Universities.

Dr Rashmi Shah

Dr Shah specialised in cardiology and later, was the first to characterise the clinical significance of CYP2D6.