This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Sir S Moncada

Professor Moncada’s scientific career began at the Royal College of Surgeons, where he was part of the team that discovered the mechanism of action of aspirin-like drugs, thus explaining their therapeutic actions as well as their main side effect, gastric damage.

Professor Shuh Narumiya

Shuh Narumiya is Professor of Drug Discovery Medicine, and Director of Medical Innovation Center, Kyoto University, Japan.

Professor Stella O'Donnell

Stella O’Donnell (nee Gregory) BSc 1959 (pharmacy) BSc 1960 (pharmacology) PhD 1963 DSc 1984, University of Leeds.

Professor Michael Orme

I worked for 30 years at the University of Liverpool initially as Senior Lecturer, Professor from 1984 and then as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences from 1991-1996.

Professor Clive Page

Current position: Director, Sackler Institute of Pulmonary Pharmacology Institute of Pharmaceutical Science King’s College London London SE1 9RT.

Sir Menelas Pangalos

Mene is responsible for BioPharmaceuticals R&D across CVRM, Respiratory & Immunology, Vaccines & Immune Therapies and Neuroscience.

Professor James Parratt

Born London 1933; PhD pharmacology, School of Pharmacy, University of London, 1958; MSc (physiology) University College London 1963, DSc (London, 1997), DSc (Strathclyde 1974), MDhc (Szeged Medical University, Hungary 1989), elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, FRSE (1986).