This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor Robert Lefkowitz

Robert J Lefkowitz, MD is James B Duke Professor of Medicine and Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry at the Duke University Medical Center.

Professor Hilary Little

Hilary Little is a preclinical pharmacologist, currently a visiting Professor of Addiction Science at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, London.

Dr Judy MacArthur Clark

As Head of the Animals in Science Regulation Unit in the Home Office until 2016, Judy MacArthur Clark was responsible for regulating the use of animals in research throughout the UK for over eight years.

Professor Margaret MacLean

Mandy’s research has focused on sex effects and interactions between serotonin and oestrogen metabolism in pulmonary arterial hypertension.

Professor Charles Marsden

Emeritus Professor Charles A Marsden (b 1943) read Zoology at the University of London before going to the University of Southampton (MSc in Biochemical Pharmacology (1967), PhD in invertebrate neuropharmacology (1969) and DSc (1986)).

Dr Fiona Marshall

Fiona Marshall is the Chief Scientific officer and a founder of Heptares Therapeutics – a drug discovery and development biotechnology company.

Professor Ian Martin

After graduating in Chemistry from Bristol, I spent three years in the pharmaceutical industry, before returning to academia, obtaining a PhD while working in the MRC Neuropharmacology Unit in Birmingham.