This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor Roland Jones

Roland Jones began his career with a BSc in Pharmacology at the University of Bradford (1971-75) where he was inspired to become a neuropharmacologist by Bob Naylor and a year on placement in the “Mood Modifier” project at Beechams in Harlow.

Professor Trevor Jones

Prof Jones is Chairman of the international Clinical Research Organisation, Simbec-Orion and Board member of the Global Life Sciences investment company; Arix Bioscience; the Oxford based Drug Discovery Company ,e-Therapeutics; and the UK Stem Cell Foundation (UKSCF).

Professor John Kelly

Kelly, Professor John Shearer; Educ: George Heriot's School, Edinburgh, Edinburgh University 1965-68 Deg: BSc (Edin) 1960, MB ChB 1962, PhD (Edin) 1966, MA (Cantab) 1976.

Professor Ian Kitchen

Professor Kitchen is CEO of REF2020 Consulting and retired Emeritus Professor of Neuropharmacology at the University of Surrey.

Professor Brian Kobilka

Brian Kobilka, MD is Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology, and Hélène Irwin Fagan Chair in Cardiology at Stanford University School of Medicine.

Professor Andrew Lawrence

Professor Andrew Lawrence is an NHMRC Principal Research Fellow & Division Head at the Florey Institute of Neuroscience & Mental Health where he is leader of the Mental Health Research Theme and runs the Addiction Neuroscience laboratory.

Professor David Lawson

A native of Glasgow, David was educated at the High School of Glasgow and Glasgow University (MB 62, MD 73), and became Consultant Physician and Clinical Pharmacologist in Glasgow Royal Infirmary in 1973.

Professor Robert Lechler

Robert Lechler qualified in Medicine and trained in general medicine and nephrology.

Dr Melanie Lee

Dr Melanie Lee, PhD, CBE, is CEO of LifeArc.

Dr Gordon Lees

Gordon Lees served as Member of the BJP Editorial Board 1975-81; the Committee 1983-84; Secretary to the BJP Editorial Board 1984-90.