This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor Charles George

Charles studied medicine in Birmingham and undertook specialist training in Clinical Pharmacology at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School/Hammersmith Hospital.

Dame Sarah Gilbert

Sarah Gilbert is Professor of Vaccinology at the University of Oxford.

Professor Theophile Godfraind

Emeritus Professor of Physiology and Pharmacology of the Catholic University of Louvain, he is Field Chief Editor of Frontiers in Pharmacology and President of the Belgian National Committee for Physiology and Pharmacology.

Dr Richard Hargreaves

Richard Hargreaves holds a BSc and Ph.

Dr Ann Hayes

Ann Hayes completed her PhD in Pharmacology at the School of Pharmacy in London and then worked for 22 years at Glaxo, initially within pharmacology research, progressing to head of department.

Dr Robin Hiley

I am Emeritus Reader in Vascular Pharmacology and an Emeritus Fellow of Murray Edwards College.

Professor Ray Hill

Following his academic training at the University of London, he was a lecturer in Pharmacology at the University of Bristol from 1974 to 1983 and supervisor in Pharmacology at Downing College, University of Cambridge from 1983 to 1988.