Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Dr Patrick Humphrey

Patrick Humphrey graduated from the School of Pharmacy, University of London, in 1968.

Professor jackie hunter

Jackie Hunter is the Chief Executive Officer of Benevolent Bio.

Dr Niall Hyland

I completed my BSc (Hons) at Ulster University and PhD in Pharmacology at King’s College London.

Professor Donald Jenkinson

After completing a PhD in Biophysics at University College London, Donald Jenkinson was Invited by H O Schild to join the UCL Department of Pharmacology, which he headed from 1983 to 1987.

Professor Peter Jenner

It was only when Peter Jenner entered university to study pharmacy at Chelsea College that he found academic life interesting.

Professor Roland Jones

Roland Jones began his career with a BSc in Pharmacology at the University of Bradford (1971-75) where he was inspired to become a neuropharmacologist by Bob Naylor and a year on placement in the “Mood Modifier” project at Beechams in Harlow.

Professor Trevor Jones

Prof Jones is Chairman of the international Clinical Research Organisation, Simbec-Orion and Board member of the Global Life Sciences investment company; Arix Bioscience; the Oxford based Drug Discovery Company ,e-Therapeutics; and the UK Stem Cell Foundation (UKSCF).

Professor John Kelly

Kelly, Professor John Shearer; Educ: George Heriot's School, Edinburgh, Edinburgh University 1965-68 Deg: BSc (Edin) 1960, MB ChB 1962, PhD (Edin) 1966, MA (Cantab) 1976.

Dr Catherine Kettleborough

Since March 2022, Catherine (Katy) Kettleborough has headed up LifeArc’s Chronic Respiratory Infection Translational Challenge.