Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor Brian Furman

Brian Furman obtained his BPharm degree in 1966, registering as a pharmacist in 1971, and remaining on the register until now.

Dr Flic Gabbay

Flic Gabbay is a physician who has led innovative programmes and set standards in pharmaceutical medicine.

Professor Christopher Garland

Chris Garland is Professor of Vascular Pharmacology at Oxford University and a Fellow of Magdalen College, where he teaches science and medical students.

Professor Charles George

Charles studied medicine in Birmingham and undertook specialist training in Clinical Pharmacology at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School/Hammersmith Hospital.

Dame Sarah Gilbert

Sarah Gilbert is Professor of Vaccinology at the University of Oxford.

Professor Theophile Godfraind

Emeritus Professor of Physiology and Pharmacology of the Catholic University of Louvain, he is Field Chief Editor of Frontiers in Pharmacology and President of the Belgian National Committee for Physiology and Pharmacology.

Professor Iain Greenwood

Research interest: Understanding the cellular and molecular regulation of vascular and visceral smooth muscle activity by ion channels and membrane receptors.

Dr Richard Hargreaves

Richard Hargreaves holds a BSc and Ph.