Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor John Peters

John graduated from Sussex University with a BSc (Hons) degree in Neurobiology in 1979 and subsequently obtained his PhD from the University of Nottingham in 1984 after specialising in the area of cellular Neuropharmacology.

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed (MB ChB, PhD, FRCPE, FRCP, FBPhS, FMedSci) is currently David Weatherall Chair in Medicine at the University of Liverpool, and a Consultant Physician at the Royal Liverpool University Hospital.

Professor Robin Plevin

Robin Plevin is a Professor in Pharmacology at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow and currently Head of Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences.

Professor Barry Potter

Barry Potter is Emeritus Professor of Medicinal & Biological Chemistry at Oxford and Fellow of University College.

Professor Laurie Prescott

Current Positions:Emeritus Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of EdinburghRetired Consultant Physician, Edinburgh Royal Infirmary & Western General Hospital EdinburghEducation:University of Cambridge, Middlesex Hospital Medical School, LondonDegrees & Qualifications:MA, MB, BChir, MD (Cantab), FRCPE, FRCP, DPCPSA FFPM, FRSE, Honours & Awards:1978 British Pharmacological Society Lilly Prize in Clinical Pharmacology1989 Fellow, Royal Society of Edinburgh1998 Diploma in Clinical Pharmacology Honoris Causa2000 Cullen Prize, Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh2009 Honorary Fellow, British Pharmacological Society2009 Honorary Member, Swedish Association for Clinical PharmacologyProfessional Interests:Drug Absorption, Disposition and Interactions.

Dr Smita Price

Smita is a neuropharmacologist with over 25 years of experience working in the pharmaceutical industry.

Professor Humphrey Rang

After qualifying in medicine at University College London, and with a MSc in pharmacology, I moved to Oxford as Research Fellow in the Department of Pharmacology, later becoming University Lecturer and Medical Sciences Fellow at Lincoln College.

Professor Ursula Ravens

Medical School and MD in Freiburg, Germany (1963-1969; Stretch-induced automaticity in primate myocardium)After internship in Berlin, postdoc and ‘Habilitation’ in Pharmacology at the University of Kiel (1979: Relationship between shape of the cardiac action potential and contractile force).

Sir Michael Rawlins

Sir Michael is chairman of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (since December 2014).