Honorary Fellows’ Directory

Honorary Fellows are elected for life by the British Pharmacological Society in recognition of sustained excellence and leadership in science, healthcare, and public service.
The Honorary Fellowship includes Nobel Laureates, international prize-winners, long-standing members of the Society, and those who have advanced the disciplines of Pharmacology, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics through research, leadership and contribution to the British Pharmacological Society.

Find out more and nominate individuals for Honorary Fellowship.

This Directory has been created to increase the visibility of our Honorary Fellows and their contributions, and to support networking by providing a useful resource for members to connect with Honorary Fellows with similar areas of interest.

Here you can find profiles of each Honorary Fellow, including information on their institutional affiliation, year elected, primary professional setting, Affinity Group membership, along with a short biography.

Please click the magnifying glass icon to begin any searches.



Professor David Nutt

David is Prof of Neuropsychopharmacology at Imperial College London.

Professor Stella O'Donnell

Stella O’Donnell (nee Gregory) BSc 1959 (pharmacy) BSc 1960 (pharmacology) PhD 1963 DSc 1984, University of Leeds.

Professor Michael Orme

I worked for 30 years at the University of Liverpool initially as Senior Lecturer, Professor from 1984 and then as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences from 1991-1996.

Professor Clive Page

Current position: Professor of Pharmacology, Institute of Pharmaceutical Science King’s College London email: clive.

Sir Menelas Pangalos

Mene is responsible for BioPharmaceuticals R&D across CVRM, Respiratory & Immunology, Vaccines & Immune Therapies and Neuroscience.

Professor James Parratt

Born London 1933; PhD pharmacology, School of Pharmacy, University of London, 1958; MSc (physiology) University College London 1963, DSc (London, 1997), DSc (Strathclyde 1974), MDhc (Szeged Medical University, Hungary 1989), elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, FRSE (1986).

Professor Jeremy Pearson

I trained as an endothelial cell biologist, with a PhD from Cambridge.

Professor Roger Pertwee

Roger Pertwee’s research focuses on the pharmacology and therapeutic potential of synthetic, endogenous and cannabis-derived cannabinoids.

Professor John Peters

John graduated from Sussex University with a BSc (Hons) degree in Neurobiology in 1979 and subsequently obtained his PhD from the University of Nottingham in 1984 after specialising in the area of cellular Neuropharmacology.

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed (MB ChB, PhD, FRCPE, FRCP, FBPhS, FMedSci) is currently David Weatherall Chair in Medicine at the University of Liverpool, and a Consultant Physician at the Royal Liverpool University Hospital.