This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Sir Michael Rawlins

Sir Michael Rawlins


Sir Michael Rawlins GBE HonFBPhS


Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

Year elected:


Primary professional setting:


Sir Michael is chairman of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (since December 2014). He is a clinical pharmacologist and specialist in internal medicine. He was professor of clinical pharmacology in Newcastle, and physician at the Newcastle Hospitals, from 1999-2006. He was Ruth and Lionel Jacobson Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Newcastle upon Tyne (1973-2006), chairman of the Committee on Safety of Medicines (1992-1998), chairman of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs (1998-2008) and founding chairman of the National Institute for Clinical Excellence (1999-2013). He is recent past president of the Royal Society of Medicine (2012-2014). Currently Sir Michael is chairman of UK Biobank, honorary professor at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and emeritus professor at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. He was awarded the Knight Grand Cross of the British Empire (GBE) for services to health in 2017.