This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Professor David Webb

Professor David Webb


Professor David Webb MD DSc CBE FRCP FRSE FMedSci HonFBPhS


The University of Edinburgh

Year elected:


Primary professional setting:


David is Christison Professor of Therapeutics & Clinical Pharmacology, and Head of the Hypertension/Renal Section of the British Heart Foundation’s Centre of Research Excellence (BHF CoRE), at the University of Edinburgh. He leads Edinburgh’s ESH-accredited Hypertension Excellence Centre, is President of BPS, Honorary President of the European Society for Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics (EACPT) and Vice-Chair of the Clinical Division of the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR). He will be President of the World Congress of Pharmacology in 2022. He is a non-executive director of the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) and chairs the Scientific Advisory Committee at National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (NIBSC). He has previously been Chair of the Scottish Medicines Consortium, President of the Scottish Society of Physicians, and worked on reports from the Academy of Medical Sciences on Safer Medicines, Regulation and Governance of Medical Research and Evidence.