This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Professor Simon Kennedy

Professor Simon Kennedy joined the University of Glasgow in 2006 as a senior lecturer in the Institute of Cardiovascular & Medical Sciences (ICAMS) and is currently within the School of Cardiovascular & Metabolic Health.

From a research and teaching role, Professor Kennedy moved to a more teaching-focussed role whilst still collaborating on research projects with colleagues within ICAMS, College of Science and Engineering and external partners.

He co-ordinates Level 4 of the Pharmacology degree as well as three final-year options, one of which teaches in vivo skills to undergraduate students and is funded by a teaching grant from the British Pharmacological Society.

A member of the College Appeals panel and external examiner to two other UK universities, he teaches at all levels on degrees within the School, as well as on the MBChB and BDS degrees and acts as an advisor of studies to around 40 undergraduate students.
At University level, Professor Kennedy serves as the Senior Senate Assessor for Student Conduct, is one of the elected Senate Assessors on the University Court, and sits on the Education Policy & Strategy Committee, Finance Committee, Audit and Risk Committee and the Glasgow University Sports Association (GUSA) Committee.

An active member of the British Pharmacological Society, he serves on their Finance Committee and their awards committee, as well as being both an 'Educator Expert' on their Ambassador Scheme to promote the in vivo undergraduate curriculum and a member of the Education and Training Committee. In January 2023 he became Honorary Treasurer of the BPS.

Other external academic associations include being part of the editorial board of two top-ranking pharmacology journals and treasurer of the Scottish Cardiovascular Forum.

Published: in

Vice Presidents are elected by members of the Society to chair four of the Society's committees and direct and guide the remit of these committees. Vice Presidents are elected for a three year term following one year in a deputy 'elect' Vice President position.

  • Engagement Committee
  • Meetings Committee
  • Clinical Committee
  • Education & Training Committee
  • Finance Committee (Chaired by the Society's Honorary Treasurer, who is also a Trustee)