This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

President’s message: celebrating our award winners

Published: 16 May 2018
Category: President's message
By Stephen Hill

One of the highlights of being President of the Society is being able to celebrate the achievements of our members by announcing the recipients of our prizes and awards. Each prize and award, in its particular way, is designed to encourage, reward and raise the profile of a part of our vibrant community.

Last month our Membership & Awards Committee reviewed our 2018 nominations and applications, and I am now pleased to announce the first batch of winners. They span the whole spectrum of pharmacology and I hope you will join me in congratulating them all.

AstraZeneca Prize for Women in Pharmacology

Dr Fiona Marshall, MSD, UK

Bill Bowman Prize Lectureship

Dr Caroline Copeland, St George’s, University of London, UK

Novartis Prize

Dr Chris Bailey, University of Bath, UK

Pickford Award

Dr Nura Mohamed, Imperial College London, UK

Sir James Black Award for Contributions to Drug Discovery

Dr Pancras Wong, Dr Robert Knabb, Dr Donglu Zhang, Dr Mimi Quan and Dr Donald Pinto, for the discovery of/original research on Eliquis® (Apixaban) at Bristol-Myers Squibb, USA

Vane Medal

Dr Fiona Marshall, MSD, UK

Vogt Prize

Dr Jose Vicente Torres Perez, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Vacation Studentships (all UK)

Scott Adams, University of Aberdeen
Hannah Comfort, University of Nottingham
Ellen Gardner, University of Glasgow
Fiona Healy, University of Liverpool
Christopher Hillyar, Queen Mary University of London
Ermira Kurti, King’s College London
Danil Lopukhov, University College London
Andra Stefan, University College London
David Tippett, University of Nottingham

And there is still time to nominate a colleague, or apply yourself, for the following prizes and awards:

I look forward to announcing the winners of those prizes and awards in the summer.

More from President's message


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

If you are a British Pharmacological Society member, please sign in to post comments.

About the author

Steve studied Pharmacology in Bristol and then undertook PhD studies in the Department of Pharmacology in Cambridge.  After postdoctoral studies in Cambridge he was appointed to a lectureship in the Department of Pharmacy at the University of Nottingham in 1981. Steve is currently Professor of Molecular Pharmacology in the School of Life Sciences in Nottingham and an Adjunct Professor at the University of Western Australia. His research interests are the molecular pharmacology of G Protein-coupled receptors and the study of single ligand-receptor interactions in membrane microdomains using fluorescence correlation spectroscopy.