This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Rang Prize


This annual prize was set up by the British Pharmacological Society to support and enhance the discipline of pharmacology by recognising excellence in teaching.

The prize

The winner will receive £1,000.


Candidates will have made a significant contribution to the teaching of non-clinical or clinical pharmacology in past five years (i.e. it is not a lifetime award but a prize for initiating recent achievements in teaching).


  • Nominee may be at any stage of their career and will ordinarily have been a member for at least 2 years
  • Self-nomination or nomination by members only (preferably a head of department).
  • Joint nominations are acceptable
  • There are no restrictions on age, nationality, place of residence or work of nominees

Deadline & nomination form

Please submit the nomination form by 28 February 2018.

Past winners

  • 2017 - C Guilding & R Prince
  • 2016 - S Duty & L Ferrie
  • 2015 - J Mucklow & M Nandi
  • 2014 - A Hitchings, S Ayoub & M Seed
  • 2013 - J Coleman
  • 2012 - K Gibson & D Lewis
  • 2011 - M Coffey
  • 2010 - M Randall & J Botting
  • 2009 - A Gibson & S Maxwell
  • 2008 - S Alexander, A Mathie & J Peters