This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.



Cannabinoids may have a vast array of anti-cancer effects

18 Jul 2018

Previous research has shown that cannabinoids can help lessen side effects of anti-cancer therapies. Now a new British Journal of Pharmacology review has examined their potential for the direct treatment of cancer.  

Researchers compare drugs for treating severe hypertension in pregnancy

05 Jul 2018

A recent meta-analysis of published studies has compared the efficacy and safety of antihypertensive drugs during pregnancy.  

Can doctors identify older patients at risk of medication harm following hospital discharge?

02 Jul 2018

A new British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology study has examined whether doctors can predict which older patients will experience MRH requiring care following hospital discharge, and whether clinical experience and confidence in prediction influence the accuracy of predictions.

Society welcomes new funding to attract world’s top science talent

22 Jun 2018

Professor Steve Hill, President of the British Pharmacological Society, has welcomed the announcement by the UK government of £1.3 billion worth of funding to attract the best researchers from around the world to study and work in the UK.

Should pharmacists be allowed to write prescriptions?

20 Jun 2018

Prescribing of medications has traditionally been restricted to physicians, but there is growing support to allow pharmacists to do so as well.

Past President Julia Buckingham recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours list

11 Jun 2018

The Society is pleased to see that Professor Julia Buckingham has been made a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list, released on 9 June.

Model examines pregnancy’s effects on opioid addiction treatment

06 Jun 2018

Buprenorphine (BUP) is approved for the treatment of opioid addiction. The current dosing regimen of BUP in pregnant women is based on recommendations designed for non-pregnant adults, but physiological changes during pregnancy may alter BUP exposure and efficacy.

New journal series provides insights on European medication-related guidelines

31 May 2018

A new series published in the British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology (BJCP) aims to help clinicians, researchers, and patients access and understand recent guidelines and regulatory documents issued by the European Medicines Agency (EMA), which oversees the scientific evaluation and safety monitoring of medicines in the European Union.

Medication-related harm in older adults is common, costly, and preventable

23 May 2018

New research indicates that harm from medicines is common in older adults following hospital discharge, and it results in substantial use of healthcare resources.  

Society responds to Prime Minister’s announcement on boost for UK research to tackle chronic disease

20 May 2018

The British Pharmacological Society today welcomed the Prime Minister’s announcement of targeted support for research into chronic diseases. The Society also reiterated that there is a pressing need to ensure the UK develops the skills and workforce needed to deliver on the government’s ambitious vision for the life sciences sector and the health of the nation.

Media enquiries

Contact our press office by email or on:

T. +44 (0)20 7239 0180
M. +44 (0)7786 552 498

Our normal office hours are 9am to 5pm Monday to Friday. A member of staff will try to reply to you as soon as possible.