Announcing the recipients of some our prizes and awards

Published: 12 Jun 2020
Category: Editorial

I am pleased to announce the recipients of some of our prizes and awards, representing a range of specialisms in pharmacology. Each prize or award is designed to encourage, reward and raise the profile of a part of our vibrant community.

Dr Aidan Seeley has received the inaugural Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Prize, sponsored by AstraZeneca. Aidan was recognised for his significant efforts to create environments that support everyone to participate and succeed. He carried out this important work both at the University of Swansea and within the Society, where he has led wide-ranging activities resulting in very positive changes.

These awards also celebrate exceptional pharmacology teaching. We are delighted to acknowledge Dr Derek Lang for his contribution to the teaching of Clinical Pharmacology at Cardiff University, and Dr Sadani Cooray and Professor Nick Goulding for their development of an undergraduate programme at Queen Mary University of London that bridges academia and industry.

The Sir James Black Award for contributions to Drug Discovery recognises Professor Graham Russell’s pioneering role in the discovery and study of bisphosphonates (BPs), which have become the most widely used class of medicines for treating disorders of excessive bone resorption, bringing benefits to millions worldwide.

Read the full list of winners.

And remember you still have time to nominate or apply for the Schachter Award, which is open until 30 June 2020.

Congratulations to all our winners.


More from Editorial


Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.

If you are a British Pharmacological Society member, please sign in to post comments.