Honorary Fellows recognised in 2023 New Year Honours

2023 New Years Honours

The UK's New Year Honours List marks 'the incredible public service of individuals from across the UK'.

Two Honorary Fellows of the British Pharmacological Society have been recognised in the 2023 New Year Honours List for their outstanding contributions to society.

Professor David Crossman

Professor David Crossman was awarded a CBE for services to Public Health in Scotland. Professor Crossman is Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of St Andrews, and between 2017 and 2022 served as Chief Scientist (Health) for Scotland. He was heavily involved in the Scottish Government's policies on COVID-19, including acting as Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board on Testing and Vice Chair of the C-19 Advisory Board.

Professor Graeme Milligan

Professor Graeme Milligan was awarded an OBE for services to Biomedical Research and to Industry. Professor Milligan is Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Glasgow. He has made outstanding contributions to the understanding of G protein-mediated signal transduction and the pharmacology and regulation of numerous G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs), including subsets that the pharmaceutical industry has considered ‘hard to target’. His research outputs have been cited more than 35,000 times.

Society  President, Professor Clive Page, said:

I was delighted to see two of our Honorary Fellows receiving National Awards in the New Year Honours list. All of us at the BPS would like to send our hearty congratulations to both honourees for their richly deserved recognition of their contributions to Pharmacology and Public Health.


Further reading:

Published: 03 Jan 2023 in Society news