This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Zaimis Prize


Named in honour of Eleanor Zaimis, who was awarded Professor of Pharmacology at the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine in 1958 and remained Head of the Pharmacology Department until her retirement in 1980. This biennial award has been established to recognise long-term commitment to the teaching of pharmacology.

The prize

The winner will receive £2,000.


The nomination should include evidence of:

  • Individual Teaching Excellence:
    • Long standing involvement in the teaching of pharmacology through direct classroom involvement, course or programme leadership, or the mentoring of students, evidenced in the form of a letter of support from the Head of Teaching or Head of Faculty.  Letters of support should detail a sustained commitment to teaching at an outstanding level.  Example evidence includes, but is not limited to: feedback from students, previous teaching awards, student module or course evaluations, and personal endorsements from staff and students.
  • Raising the Profile of Pharmacology:
    • An intellectual engagement with the teaching of pharmacology in the form of scholarship in pharmacology education (e.g. publications, abstracts, presentations or workshops, funded grants) or evidence of an academically rigorous approach that has had a demonstrated impact on the student experience
    • Service to the teaching of pharmacology at institutional, national or international level through committee or advisory panel participation
  • Developing Excellence in the Teaching of Pharmacology:
    • A commitment to the personal development of teaching (life-long learning) Example evidence includes, but is not limited to: CPD record, additional training in education or pharmacology, conference and workshop participation
    • Leadership in the personal development of other pharmacology teachers


  • Candidates will ordinarily be expected to have been a member for at least 2 years
  • Nomination must be by a member of the Society
  • Self-nomination is not acceptable
  • There are no restrictions on nationality, place of residence or work of nominees

Deadline & nomination form

Nomination form available January 2019