Bill Bowman Prize

This biennial prize supports the professional development of early career, non-clinical members.  Recipients are offered the opportunity to give a lecture and awarded up to £5,000 in travel, accommodation and subsistence expenses to support a 3-week research visit to Australasia - supported by BPS & ASCEPT.


  • Non-clinical pharmacologist, within five years of the award of a PhD (excluding significant career breaks) and in a non-tenured position
  • Member for at least two years
  • Applicants are expected to find host institution(s) for the visit in advance of submission
  • Based outside of Australasia and expected to qualify for a visa
  • The Society is committed to increasing the diversity of its award recipients. Excellent candidates are encouraged to apply, especially those from under-represented groups
  • Applications are subject to the Awards Terms and Conditions


Candidates will be assessed on their published work, lecture summary, research proposal and potential benefit to the applicant from exposure to overseas research activity.


You must gather the following information in one PDF document and upload via the 'apply now' link. All information must use Arial 11 and Moderate margins. Exceeding the page limits may result in an application being marked down or removed from the review process.

  • One page CV
  • Full list of publications, including journal impact factor and number of citations
  • Lecture summary
  • Proposal summarising the focus of the research visit (using SMART objectives; one page
  • Letter from the host institute(s), confirming that they have agreed to host the applicant for the duration of the visit and cover any research costs.

Deadline for applications: 31 March 2024.

Apply now

Past winners

Published: 06 Feb 2024 in Lectureship