This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Vogt Prize


Named in honour of Marthe Vogt, who was a pioneer throughout her career: graduating from Berlin University with both a medical degree and a doctorate in Chemistry (a rarity for a woman at that time), to becoming the third ever woman to join the British Pharmacological Society in 1937. This prize has been established to reward excellence in postgraduate studies.

The prize

Two prizes of £500 will be awarded


  • Scientific merit of work
  • Candidates publications


  • Candidates will ordinarily have been members for at least 2 years and would have been awarded their MD or PhD within the past 18 months
  • Nominations from Early Career, Full Members or Fellows. Self-nomination is not acceptable.
  • Nominations will be considered for work in areas including:
    • Exploratory or applied pharmacology
    • Experimental/translational medicine & clinical research

Deadline & nomination form

Please submit the nomination form by 28 February 2018.

Past winners

  • 2017 - B Vliegenthart; P Yang