Rang Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching

This annual prize recognises outstanding achievement in the teaching of both clinical and non-clinical pharmacology. There are up to two awards available. Winners will receive £1,000.


Candidates will have made an exceptional contribution to the teaching of clinical or non-clinical pharmacology in the past five years (i.e. it is not a lifetime award but a prize for initiating recent achievements in teaching)

  • Significant contribution/impact in pharmacology teaching and education in school, undergraduate, postgraduate, medical or veterinary education.
  • Improving educational practice, student outcomes or contributions to pedagogy.


  • Member for at least two years (an exception will be made for school teachers who may be non-members)
  • Joint applications are acceptable
  • The Society is committed to increasing the diversity of its award recipients. Excellent candidates are encouraged to apply, especially those from under-represented groups
  • Applications are subject to the Awards Terms and Conditions


You must gather the following information in one PDF document and upload via the 'apply now' link. All information must use Arial 11 and Moderate margins. Exceeding the page limits may result in an application being marked down or removed from the review process.

  • One page CV
  • Description of exceptional contribution to teaching and education such as innovative methods (one page)
  • Objective evidence such as student feedback and positive impact within or outside the candidate’s organisation to improve student experience (one page).

Deadline for applications: 31 March 2024.

Apply now

Past winners

Published: 06 Feb 2024 in Prizes and awards