2022 prize and award winners announced

The Society is delighted to announce the winners of a number of prizes and awards for 2022. 

Our prizes and awards are designed to recognise the contributions to pharmacology made by our members and increase our impact on the discipline by supporting the career progression of early career pharmacologists.  

Crossing a range of disciplines, this year’s winners have demonstrated excellence in clinical and non-clinical pharmacology. 

The full list of winners is below. 

AJ Clark Studentship 

This studentship enables scientists with degrees in pharmacology or related disciplines to carry out research in pharmacology leading to a PhD. 

Australasian Visitor 

This lectureship gives pharmacologists the opportunity to give a lecture at the Australasian Society for Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology annual meeting, as well as other lectures and seminars during the course of the visit. 

  • Steve Rees, AstraZeneca 

Bill Bowman Prize 

This biennial prize supports the professional development of early career, non-clinical members.   

  • Dr Shelby Barnett, Newcastle University 
  • Dr Cristina Perez-Ternero, Queen Mary, University of London 

BPS Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Prize 

This annual prize recognises members who are championing Equity, Diversity and Inclusion 

  • Professor Jeanette Woolard, University of Nottingham 

B├╝lbring Award 

This award supports members returning to work following a career break. 

  • Dr Silvia Sposini, Imperial College London 

Grahame-Smith Prize 

This biennial prize recognises outstanding contributions to clinical pharmacology 

  • Dr Neeraj (Bean) Dhaun, University of Edinburgh 

Pickford Award 

This award provides career enhancing opportunities for early career members. 

  • Dr Despoina Aslanoglou, Queen Mary, University of London 

Vacation Studentship 

This studentship encourages undergraduates to take pharmacology as a specialism. 

  • Jacob Browne, University of East Anglia 
  • Katie-Rae Hackett, University of Liverpool 
  • Jennifer Ibbotson, University of Nottingham 
  • Vidmante Jurgaityte, University College London 
  • Iga Manulak, Trinity College Dublin 
  • Aoife O'Connell, National University of Ireland 
  • Aisha Sharif, Queen Mary, University of London 
  • Reece Thompson, University of Strathclyde 
  • Jinyu Zhang, University of Nottingham 

Rang Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching 

This annual prize recognises outstanding achievement in the teaching of both clinical and non-clinical pharmacology.   


The following were recognised for developing a national e-Learning package: 

  • Dr Elizabeth Adeyeye, The Royal Hospital 
  • Dr Daniel Burrage, St George’s University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Dr Christine Cole, The Royal Liverpool University Hospital 
  • Dr Marie Fisk, University of Cambridge 
  • Dr Christopher Floyd, GlaxoSmithKline 
  • Dr Spoorthy Kulkarni, University of Cambridge 
  • Dr Stefanie Lip, University of Glasgow 
  • Dr Daniel Marks, University College Hospital 
  • Dr Jack Ross, Guy's Hospital 


  • Dr Ian Copple, University of Liverpool 

Vogt Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Postgraduate Studies 

This prize rewards outstanding achievement in postgraduate studies. 

  • Dr Juhi Gupta, University of Liverpool 
  • Dr Miriam Scarpa, University of Glasgow 

Learn more about our upcoming prizes and awards 

Published: 30 Jun 2022 in Society news