This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Society President awarded the fourth Tomoh Masaki Award (2017)

Professor Webb receiving the award from Professor Yanagisawa © 2017, The International Conferences on Endothelin,

Published: 24 Oct 2017 in Society news

David Webb, Christison Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Edinburgh received this award at the International Congress on Endothelin (ET-15) in Prague, Czech Republic in early October 2017. The award recognises outstanding scientific achievement and was primarily based on his translational research contributing to the clinical development of endothelin receptor antagonists in hypertension and chronic renal disease.

Previous recipients of this award were Professor Masashi Yanagisawa MD PhD (who discovered endothelin-1 [ET-1] in his PhD project); Professor Katsutoshi Goto PhD (the pharmacologist who helped discover ET-1 and highlighted its potential pathophysiological role); and Dr Martine Clozel MD (who has very successfully developed endothelin receptor antagonists for use in patients – including Tracleer [bosentan] and Opsumit [macitentan]).

Images – © 2017, The International Conferences on Endothelin,