This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Prizes, awards and grants

Our prizes, awards and grants recognise the contributions of our members to pharmacology in all its forms and throughout their careers.


BPS Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Prize, sponsored by AstraZeneca

This annual prize recognises members who are championing Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. A generous donation of £1,000 from AstraZeneca will go to the winners, who will also have the opportunity to communicate their contribution.

B├╝lbring Award

This award supports members returning to work following a career break. Winners will receive up to £10,000.

Clinical Undergraduate Prize

This prize recognises the achievements of medical students studying pharmacology and clinical pharmacology. Winners will receive £100.

Drug Discovery of the Year

This prize rewards the achievements of teams of scientists who discover new drugs.

Grahame-Smith Prize

This biennial prize recognises outstanding contributions to clinical pharmacology. Winners will receive £1,000 and an invitation to give a lecture at a future meeting organised by the Society.

Lilly Prize

This prize recognises outstanding achievement and leadership in clinical pharmacology. The winner will receive £2,000 and be given the opportunity to give a lecture at a Society meeting.

Pickford Award

This award provides career enhancing opportunities for early career members. Winners will receive up to £10,000 to fund a short term project or visit to a laboratory to learn a new technique.

Rang Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching

This annual prize recognises outstanding achievement in the teaching of both clinical and non-clinical pharmacology. Winners will receive £1,000.

Schachter Award

This award supports postgraduate members to visit an international laboratory to learn a new technique. Winners will receive up to £1,850 to cover the costs of travel and accommodation.

Sir Colin Dollery Clinical Pharmacology Training Award

This award provides a bursary for medical students who are undertaking an intercalated BSc.