This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Bill Bowman Prize Lectureship

Published: 28 Feb 2020 in Lectureship

This biennial prize supports professional development of early career, non-clinical members. Winners will receive £500 plus expenses to support two-three lectures in the UK and Ireland. Named in honour of Professor Bill Bowman, who established the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Strathclyde in 1966.

Applications will open in January 2022.


  • A basic pharmacologist - within five years of the award of a PhD - working in the UK or Ireland
  • A member for at least two years
  • Must be able to commit to presenting lectures within twelve months of the award
  • The Society is committed to increasing the diversity of its award recipients. Excellent candidates are encouraged to apply, especially those from under-represented groups
  • Applications are subject to the Awards Terms and Conditions


Candidates will be assesed on their published work and the strength of their lecture summary


To apply, upload one PDF containing:
  • a Brief CV (max two pages), degrees/qualifications; current/previous posts held with dates; Details of previous prizes are welcome, but this is not a key deciding factor in the award decision
  • a summary of the work (max one page) on which the lecture will be based
  • a full list of publications by the candidate, including journal impact factor and number of citations.
Past winners

Bill Bowman Prize Lectureship

This award is named in honour of Professor Bill Bowman, who established the Department of Pharmacology at the new University of Strathclyde in 1966.

Recent winners

  • 2020 – Mark Soave
  • 2018 – Caroline Copeland
  • 2017 – Aisah Aubdool
  • 2016 – Nicholas Kirkby
  • 2014 – Alexis Bailey
  • 2012 – Emma Robinson, Kathryn Yuill