This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

Honorary Fellows recognised by the Royal Society

British Pharmacological Society Honorary Fellows Dame Sarah Gilbert DBE (as part of the Oxford-AstraZeneca Vaccine Team) and Professor Graeme Milligan have been recognised by the Royal Society in its annual Medals and Awards.

Accepting the Copley Medal on behalf of the team, Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert DBE, Saïd Professor of Vaccinology at the University of Oxford, said:

It is wonderful to receive this recognition for the team that developed the Oxford-AstraZeneca Covid vaccine. When work started on the vaccine in 2020, we needed to bring together people with complementary expertise to allow us to move quickly and plan many stages ahead. Many people worked extremely hard for a very long time, and winning this prize lets the whole team know how much their dedication is appreciated.

Professor Graeme Milligan (University of Glasgow) receives the Mullard Award for his global leadership in pharmacological and translational studies, his successful "spinning-out" of academic research and his longstanding underpinning support for the bio-pharmaceutical industry.

Professor Milligan said:


I am delighted and honoured to be the recipient of the Mullard Award. Links and interactions with the UK bio-pharmaceutical  industry have been at the heart of my research programmes through my career, and the British Pharmacological Society has played a central facilitating role in this via its meetings programmes.

British Pharmacological Society President, Professor Clive Page, said:


It is fantastic to see the outstanding work from the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine group recognized by the Royal Society, through the award of the Copley Medal.  Many congratulations also to Professor Graeme Milligan on receipt of the Mullard Award from the Royal Society for his many achievements in pharmacology throughout his distinguished career.

For the full list of Medals and Awards winners, visit the Royal Society's announcement.

Published: 24 Aug 2022 in Society news