This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

President's Lecture 2020

Dr Robert Langer: Advances in drug delivery and cell therapy

18 Feb 2021

Abstracts deadline:

Registration deadline:

London, UK - View map

  • Overview

Rescheduled from 23 June 2020 to 18 February 2021

Following careful consideration and in line with the advice from the UK Government and World Health Organization (WHO) regarding outbreak of the novel coronavirus COVID-19, the British Pharmacological Society has taken the decision to postpone the President’s Lecture to 18 February 2021.

This Lecture will be given by Dr Robert Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Dr. Langer will discuss advances in drug delivery such as pills that can  1.)  deliver drugs for weeks to months
and  2.) deliver macromolecules such as insulin. He will also discuss Nanomedicine as a means of delivering the drugs of the future such as siRna and mRNA. Finally, he will discuss new means of inserting molecules into cells, as well as regenerative medicine.

About Dr Robert Langer

Robert Langer is one of 12 Institute Professors at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); being an Institute Professor is the highest honor that can be awarded to a faculty member. He has written nearly 1,500 articles, which have been cited over 300,000 times; his h-index of 272 is the highest of any engineer in history. He has more than 1,350 issued and pending patents worldwide. His patents have licensed or sublicensed to over 400 companies. He served as Chairman of the FDA’s Science Board (its highest advisory board) from 1999-2002. His over 220 awards include both the United States National Medal of Science and the United States National Medal of Technology and Innovation (he is one of 4 living individuals to have received both these honors), the Charles Stark Draper Prize (often called the Engineering Nobel Prize), Albany Medical Center Prize, Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, Kyoto Prize, Wolf Prize for Chemistry, Millennium Technology Prize, Priestley Medal (highest award of the American Chemical Society), Gairdner Prize, Dreyfus Prize in Chemical Sciences, Maurice Marie-Janot Award, and the Lemelson-MIT prize, for being “one of history’s most prolific inventors in medicine.” He holds 34 honorary doctorates and has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Inventors.‚Äč


Registration will open in December 2020 with limited spaces so register your interest now to avoid missing out on this exciting event.

If you would like to register your interest, please email


If you have any questions regarding the President’s Lecture, please email