This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Learn more about cookies and how to manage them.

AstraZeneca Prize for Women in Pharmacology


Although there are more women than ever studying science in general, and pharmacology in particular, those who reach the pinnacle of the profession remain sadly few and far between. The British Pharmacological Society runs a number of innovative initiatives to address this important issue. One of these initiatives was the creation of a prize to celebrate women in pharmacology.

The prize

The winner will receive £2,000 and be given the opportunity to present a lecture at a meeting of the Society.


Women whose career achievements have contributed significantly to our understanding of a particular field through excellence in research.


Self-nomination or nomination by a member. Nominee must be a female member and will ordinarily be expected to have been a member for at least 2 years. There are no restrictions on age, nationality, place of residence or work of nominees.

Deadline & nomination form

Please submit the nomination form by 28 February 2018.

Past winners

  • 2017 - L Clapp
  • 2016 - C Dive
  • 2015 - J Hunter
  • 2014 - S Nourshargh
  • 2013 - M MacLean
  • 2012 - J Mitchell
  • 2011 - M Belvisi
  • 2010 - S Brain
  • 2009 - J Buckingham